Power
From utility feeds and medium-voltage gear through UPS, generators, and intelligent distribution to the rack — the electrical backbone of resiliency.
What it is
Power covers utility intake, transfer switching, UPS and energy storage, standby generation, and distribution (switchgear, busway, PDUs) down to branch circuit monitoring. Redundancy topology (N, N+1, 2N) decides whether IT stays up through a component failure or planned maintenance. Stored energy (battery or flywheel) and generator fuel decide how long it stays up after a utility outage. What each topology means for a resilience rating is on Facility: Resilience.
Onsite vs colo. Onsite, you design the full chain, from utility service to rack PDU. In colo, the provider runs that chain. You contract kW per cabinet or cage on A/B feeds and supply your own rack PDUs (Colo power). On both paths, the PDUs and UPS cards you own need management connectivity (Power networking).
Key tech subclasses
Onsite, you design every stage below. In colo, the provider owns everything up to the cabinet feed, and your part starts at rack PDUs and the power contract.
Utility & medium-voltage
Feeds, substations, MV/LV transformers, ATS/STS, main switchboards and paralleling gear.
UPS & energy storage
Static UPS types: standby, line-interactive, hybrid conversion, and double conversion. IEC 62040-3 classifies them by how far output depends on input (VFD, VI, VFI). Eco-mode is a high-efficiency operating mode of a double-conversion UPS, not a separate topology, and while in it the output can become input-dependent (VFD). Batteries are VRLA or lithium-ion; flywheels are the rotary alternative. Decide whether facility and IT loads get separate UPS. Source: Schneider Electric White Paper 1, an OEM summary of IEC 62040-3. Rack, closet, and edge UPS ladders are under Within-vendor ladders.
Generators & fuel
Diesel / dual-fuel gensets, N+1 / 2N, fuel polishing, leak detection, load banks.
Distribution to the rack
Floor PDUs/RPPs, busway with tap-off boxes, metered/switched rack PDUs, BCM, grounding & surge protection.
Rack PDUs and A/B feeds
Rack PDUs range from basic (no metering) to metered (local display), monitored (input readings over the network), switched (remote outlet on/off), and outlet-metered. Vendors use these words differently; Vertiv’s definitions are under Vertiv PowerIT. Dual-corded IT loads take one cord from an A-feed PDU and one from a B-feed PDU. Single-corded loads need a rack transfer switch to see both feeds. Vendor ladders: APC, Vertiv.
Design / build / manage
Design
- Define critical IT load and redundancy topology early
- Separate facility vs. IT UPS paths where justified
- Plan busway vs. whip density for future kW/rack
- Specify grounding, bonding, and harmonic mitigation
Build
- Coordinate MV/LV commissioning and IR scans
- Validate ATS/STS transfer sequences under load
- Label circuits; enable branch monitoring from day one
- Commission generator load-bank tests and fuel systems
Manage
- Trend UPS runtime, battery health, and PUE inputs
- Exercise generators on schedule; track fuel quality
- Alert on PDU overload and imbalance
- Keep single-line diagrams and as-builts current
Related comparisons
Shortlist categories Cloudbit can brief next.
Colo power: contracted kW and A/B feeds
In colo, the provider designs, runs, and maintains utility service, UPS, generators, and distribution. You contract capacity at the cabinet or cage, then supply and manage the rack PDUs. Provider selection and general contract terms are on Facility: Colo evaluation; cage layout is on Racks: Colo fit-out. Contract rules are provider-specific and change. One provider’s published schedule is used below as an example, not a norm. Sources checked 5 Oct 2026.
What you contract
- Capacity in kW or kVA per cabinet or cage, delivered as circuits of a stated voltage, amperage, and phase
- Billing model: a flat charge per circuit, metered energy, or a mix
- Receptacle type: your rack PDU input plug must match it, so confirm before ordering PDUs
- Power readings: whether the provider offers a portal or API, and how often it updates. Your own metered PDUs are the per-circuit view you control
Size A/B on the surviving feed
When one feed of an A/B pair fails, the other carries the whole load. The pair’s combined draw must therefore fit within one circuit’s usable limit. eStruxture’s July 2026 colocation schedule caps use at 80% of fuse rating and, for an A+B pair, at 40% of fuse rating on each circuit. A customer who draws more can be billed for the circuits as standalone, non-redundant power (eStruxture schedule). Under that rule, each circuit of a pair of 30 A circuits carries at most 12 A in normal running. Equinix states a similar rule in which the usable percentage varies by region and voltage, and overdraw voids the redundant-pair SLA. Read your contract for the exact percentage, and alarm on per-circuit draw from your own PDUs.
What to check in a provider’s power SLA
- Availability by redundancy level. eStruxture example: 100% for A+B high availability, 99.99% for a standard single circuit, with a tiered credit table (same source)
- What counts as an outage (one circuit or both of a pair), and whether the SLA applies only if you stayed within the loading rule
- Credit caps and how to claim
- Whether A and B come from diverse UPS systems and diverse distribution paths
- Maintenance notice periods for the power chain
- Generator fuel autonomy on site and refuel contracts
- Generator rating class. Uptime counts continuous, derated prime, or unlimited-runtime standby ratings toward Tier III/IV (Uptime ATD paper, abstract)
- Evidence behind any rating claim. What “certified” vs “designed to” means is on Facility: Certified vs designed
Power networking: PDU, UPS, and EPMS connectivity
This section lists the network decisions that power devices create. Rack-side devices go on the out-of-band network and facility plant in the OT power zone. The split and the conduit rules are on Security: PDU and UPS cards. The EPMS platform that collects the readings is on Ops: EPMS. Sources checked 5 Oct 2026.
What needs a management port
UPS network cards, rack PDU controllers, rack transfer switches, switchgear and power meters, generator and paralleling controllers, and battery monitoring. Common protocols are SNMP, HTTPS and SSH, Modbus TCP, and BACnet/IP. Raritan documents SNMP and an open API for DCIM/BMS on PX4 (Raritan PX4 FAQ). DMTF Redfish added power distribution schemas for rack and floor PDUs, transfer switches, and switchgear in release 2019.4. At that release a UPS schema was still listed as future work (DMTF overview).
Ports, addresses, and chains
Daisy-chaining PDUs reduces both switch ports and IP addresses. Raritan PX4 cascades up to 32 PDUs. Its “port forwarding” mode shares one IP and gives each PDU its own port; “bridging” gives each PDU its own IP (Raritan FAQ above). Vertiv PowerIT states daisy-chaining of up to 50 devices on one IP address, with RSTP for fault tolerance (Vertiv PowerIT page).
A chain is a shared failure domain for monitoring and remote outlet control, but not for power delivery. PDU controllers usually draw power from their own feed. An A-feed outage or a fault on the primary PDU therefore cuts off monitoring and control of every PDU behind it. A firmware upgrade or reboot of the primary, a broken cascade cable, or a failed uplink port has the same effect on the whole chain. Some Raritan link-port cascades can share controller power; treat that as a per-model feature to check, not a default.
- Always keep A-feed and B-feed PDUs on separate chains. Where there are two OOB switches, land each chain on a different one
- If a chain is closed into an RSTP ring (Vertiv), the OOB switch ports it lands on must take part in spanning tree. BPDU guard or edge-port settings will shut those ports down. Port design is on Network: OOB
- In Raritan port-forwarding mode (one IP, a port per PDU), collector and firewall rules must allow the per-PDU ports
Decisions to make
- Which zone each device goes in: OOB or facility OT. Use the split on Security: PDU and UPS cards
- OOB switch ports and IP addresses per rack, after chaining. Use static addressing (see Network: OOB). Use DHCP only if the DHCP server sits inside the OOB itself
- Whether to allow or disable vendor cloud connectors on UPS and PDU cards
- Management protocols: SNMPv3 authPriv only, and disable SNMPv1/v2c, Telnet, and HTTP. Disable Modbus TCP and BACnet/IP on OOB rack devices unless the collector needs them, because neither protocol authenticates. Read-only enforcement, including for Redfish, is on Security: PDU and UPS cards
- Collector access and alarm destinations: traps and syslog go to the DMZ collector, and write actions come only from OOB admin sessions. See Security: PDU and UPS cards
- AAA (RADIUS or LDAP, with a local fallback account) and NTP, both reachable with no dependency on production. See Network: OOB. Accurate time matters because transfer and alarm timestamps drive root-cause analysis
- Firmware patch cadence for cards and controllers. CISA advisory ICSA-21-313-01 covered vulnerabilities in Schneider NMC2/NMC3 cards and advises keeping such devices off the Internet and behind firewalls (CISA). Schedule upgrades of a chain’s primary PDU as a monitoring outage for the whole chain
- The UPS shutdown-signaling path to hypervisors. The brokered flow and its firewall rule are on Security: PDU and UPS cards; UPS runtime is under UPS
- Colo: your PDUs need an OOB path inside the cage. Provider UPS and EPMS data comes only through the provider’s portal or API, if one is offered
Products in Power
Market leaders & comparison
No public 2024–2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for DC UPS/power was verified. Shortlist uses widely cited market leaders from MarketsandMarkets / GM Insights–style 2024–2025 competitive landscapes (Schneider, Vertiv, Eaton, ABB, Delta).
See full example → Power Rival Snapshot
| Vendor / product | Strengths | Typical fit | Caveats | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Schneider Electric Galaxy / EcoStruxure Market-cited | End-to-end power + DCIM adjacency; often cited UPS share leader | Enterprise & colo with Schneider cooling/racks | Validate lithium vs VRLA TCO and service contracts | GM Insights UPS 2024 |
| Vertiv Liebert / Trinergy Market-cited | High-efficiency UPS, strong colo/hyperscale reference base | Mission-critical halls, high-density deployments | Compare service density by metro | MarketsandMarkets |
| Eaton 93PM / EnergyAware Market-cited | Grid-interactive UPS, strong channel, Brightlayer software | Enterprise + edge; energy-as-asset use cases | Feature packing across UPS lines needs clear BOM | MarketsandMarkets / GM Insights 2024–25 |
| ABB modular UPS Market-cited | Modular power + switchgear depth, predictive diagnostics | Industrial/DC campuses wanting ABB electrical plant | IT buyer familiarity may lag Schneider/Vertiv in some regions | MarketsandMarkets DC power competitive set |
| Delta Electronics Market-cited | High-density modular UPS, strong efficiency focus | ICT / dense racks, APAC-strong deployments | Validate NA support footprint for critical loads | GM Insights top-player set 2024 |
Within-vendor rack UPS and PDU ladders
Locked to public Schneider Electric (se.com/us) and Vertiv (vertiv.com/en-us) pages read 3 Oct 2026 PT. Rack UPS and rack PDU only. Galaxy is omitted — no current Galaxy SKU was verified as an IT-closet rack UPS; Galaxy VS/VX are larger three-phase row/room systems. Output VA/W is the product-page body or title figure, which is often lower than the marketing VA in the SKU name. Those watts are UPS capacity, not IT load, so Catalog estimated W stays blank. No list prices. Quote required.
APC — rack UPS
Three current closet/rack families: Smart-UPS line-interactive SMT*RM2UC (VRLA, 2U, 120 V), Smart-UPS Ultra On-Line (lithium-ion), and Smart-UPS On-Line SRT (VRLA). US SMT pages fetched are Non-Stock, not end-of-life. IEC SMT*RMI2U is not a rung (SMT2200RMI2U UK page: end of commercialization 4 Aug 2025). SRT5KRMXLT is a real 5.4 kVA / 3U / 208 V / TAA / Non-Stock SKU, but watts were not in the fetched page text, so it is not a row.
| Model | Capacity (body) | RU | Watts (if public) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SMT1500RM2UC | 1440 VA (title says 1500 VA) | 2U | 1000 W | US page |
| SMT2200RM2UC | 1920 VA (title says 2200 VA) | 2U | 1920 W | US page |
| SMT3000RM2UC | 2880 VA (title says 3 kVA) | 2U | 2700 W | US page |
| SRTL2K2RM1UC — Ultra, Li-ion, 120 V | 2200 VA | 1U rack/tower | 1950 W | US page |
| SRTL3KRM1UC — Ultra, Li-ion, 120 V (same family, not a separate rung) | 3 kVA | 1U | 2880 W | US page |
| SRTL5KRM2UT — Ultra, Li-ion, 208 V | 5 kVA | 2U rack/tower | 4.9 kW | US page |
| SRTL8KRM4UT — Ultra, Li-ion, 208 V | 8000 VA | 4U rack/tower | 8000 W | US page |
| SRT3000RMXLA — On-Line, 120 V | 3 kVA | 2U | 2.7 kW | US page |
| SRT8KRMXLT — On-Line, 208 V (same family, not a separate rung) | 8 kVA (title) | 6U | 8 kW (title) | US page |
| SRT10KRMXLT — On-Line, 208 V | 10 kVA | 6U | 10 kW | US page |
Catalog: SMT*RM2UC on the 2U Smart-UPS line; 1U Ultra only (SRTL2K2RM1UC, SRTL3KRM1UC); SRT3000RMXLA on a 2U On-Line line. 2U/4U Ultra and 6U SRT stay on this page because those chassis are taller than the line they would be forced onto.
Vertiv — PSI5 and GXT5
Checked rack lines are Liebert PSI5 (line-interactive) and Liebert GXT5 (online, 500 VA–20 kVA on the US pages). GXT5 Lithium-Ion was not re-fetched, so no Li SKUs are listed. PSI5 models 1500 VA and below are not for sale in Vermont, Colorado, or Washington. GXT5 publishes height in inches, not RU. Strings such as RT2U / RT4U / RT6U / RT11U inside the SKU are not converted to rack-U here. GXT5-20KMVRT11UXLN was confirmed on the US 208 V model table (3 Oct 2026): 20,000 VA / 20,000 W, height 19.0 in.
| Model | Capacity | RU or height | Watts | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PSI5-1000RM1201U | 1000 VA, 120 V, 1U rack | 1U (page: “1U Rack Mount”); height 1.7 in | 900 W | PSI5 family |
| PSI5-1500RT120 | 1500 VA, 120 V | 2U class; height 3.5 in. State sales restriction above. | 1350 W | PSI5 family |
| PSI5-3000RT120 | 3000 VA, 120 V, rack/tower | 2U (page: RT = 2U rack/tower); height 3.5 in | 2700 W | PSI5 family |
| PSI5-5000RT208 | 4250 VA, 208 V, rack/tower | 2U (same RT class); height 3.5 in | 3825 W | PSI5 family |
| GXT5-1500LVRT2UXL | 1500 VA, 120 V, rack/tower | RU not published; height 3.4 in | 1350 W | GXT5 120 V |
| GXT5-3000LVRT2UXL | 3000 VA, 120 V, rack/tower | RU not published; height 3.4 in | 2700 W | GXT5 120 V |
| GXT5-5000MVRT4UXLN | 5000 VA, 208/120 V | RU not published; height 6.8 in | 5000 W | GXT5 208 V |
| GXT5-10KMVRT6UXLN | 10,000 VA, 208/120 V | RU not published; height 10.2 in | 10,000 W | GXT5 208 V |
| GXT5-20KMVRT11UXLN | 20,000 VA, 208/120 V | RU not published; height 19.0 in | 20,000 W | GXT5 208 V (confirmed on the model table) |
Catalog: PSI5 2U line offers 3000 / 5000 and the restricted 1500. The 1U 1000 VA model is page-only. The GXT5 line is a 2U planning slot for the 3.4 in 120 V classes only — that 2U is not a published RU. 6.8 in, 10.2 in, and 19.0 in GXT5 classes stay on this page.
APC — rack PDU
Switched AP89xx is being discontinued in favor of NetShelter 9000 (APDU9xxx). AP8941’s US page says see APDU9941; AP8965 says see APDU9965. Metered AP88xx / AP78xx pages did not carry a discontinuation banner (AP8841 is Non-Stock). kW is omitted when the fetched page did not state it.
| Model | Capacity | Form | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| AP8831 — Metered, 2G, 10× 5-15R | 15 A, 100–120 V; kW not published | 0U | US page |
| AP8841 — Metered, 36× C13 + 6× C19. Non-Stock. | 30 A, 200 V and 208 V, 5.0 kW | 0U | US page |
| AP7811B — Metered, horizontal, 12× C13 + 4× C19 | 30 A, 208 V, 5.0 kW | 2U (not on the 0U catalog line) | US page |
| AP8865 — Metered, 3-phase | 30 A, 208 V, 3-phase, 8.6 kW | 0U | US page |
| APDU9941 — 9000 Switched (replaces AP8941) | 30 A, 200 V and 208 V, 5.0 kW | 0U | US page |
| APDU9965 — 9000 Switched (replaces AP8965) | 8.6 kW, 208 V. 30 A 3-phase is on the 9000 brochure, not the product-page blurb. | 0U | US page |
| AP8641US — Metered-by-outlet with switching, 2G | 30 A, 200 V and 208 V, 5.0 kW | 0U | US page |
Vertiv — PowerIT rack PDU
Current US catalog line is Vertiv PowerIT (Geist support is still named on the pages). Monitored = input-level remote monitoring. Switched = outlet on/off. Switched Outlet Level Monitored = per-outlet metering plus switching. 0U is used only where the page or PDF says Zero U. Vertical height is not converted to 0U. VP5N31A1 and VP4N32A0 are omitted because the same page contradicts itself. VP7N30AP outlet count is left off (overview says 36 combination C13/C19; the spec table on the same page says 24).
| Model | Capacity | Form | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| VP5N20A4 — Switched. 24× NEMA 5-20R, L5-20P. Outlet on/off stated; per-outlet kWh not stated. | 20 A, 100–120 V, 1.9 kW | Vertical, height 66.25 in. 0U not published. | VP5N20A4 |
| VP5N30AU — Switched. 20× locking C13, 4× locking C19, L6-30P. | 30 A, 200–240 V, 4.9 kW | Vertical, height 66.25 in. 0U not published. | VP5N30AU |
| VP4N30AH — Monitored (input-level). 20× C13, 4× C19, 12× 5-20R, L14-30P. | 30 A, 100–120 / 200–240 V WYE, 5.7 kW | Vertical, height 70 in. 0U not published. | VP4N30AH |
| VP7N30AU — Switched Outlet Level Monitored. 20× U-Lock C13, 4× U-Lock C19, L6-30P. | 30 A, 208 V (input 200–240 V), 4.9 kW | Zero U (PDF). Chassis 66.25 × 2 × 2.6 in. | VP7N30AU PDF |
| VP7N30AP — Switched. L21-30P. Outlet count not stated (page disagrees with itself). | 30 A, 200–240 V, 8.6 kW | Vertical, height 66.25 in. 0U not published. | VP7N30AP |
Catalog 0U PowerIT line offers only VP7N30AU. Eaton G4 and Raritan PX3 stay in the catalog as previously listed; they are not part of this APC/Vertiv ladder. As-of 2026-10-03 PT.
Sources
Sources for the sections above. Checked 5 Oct 2026 unless marked; vendor ladder sources are inline in the tables (3 Oct 2026). IEC, ISO, and NFPA standards are mostly paywalled, so OEM summaries of them are marked secondary. Research notes with per-claim detail are kept with the site source.
| Source | Type | Used for |
|---|---|---|
| Schneider Electric White Paper 1 v10 | OEM; secondary for IEC 62040-3 | UPS types, IEC 62040-3 classes, eco-mode |
| Uptime Institute ATD paper: Engine-Generator Ratings (abstract) | Primary (abstract only) | Generator ratings for Tier III/IV |
| eStruxture Colocation Services Schedule (July 2026) | Provider contract | A/B loading rule, power SLA example |
| Raritan PX4 FAQ | OEM | PDU cascading, IP sharing, SNMP/API |
| Vertiv PowerIT VP7N30AP page | OEM | Daisy-chain and IP aggregation |
| DMTF Redfish 2019.4 overview | Standards body | Redfish power distribution schemas |
| CISA ICSA-21-313-01 | Government advisory | UPS/PDU card vulnerabilities and mitigations |